Tartarus Press


The Flowers of the Sea is a paperback of 388 pages


ISBN 978-1-905784-63-9


Paperback: £17.95 inc p&p worldwide


Ebook: £4.99

(Please note that the ebook will be sent manually, so there may be a short delay in receiving it.)


alternatively, buy ebook direct from Amazon

European customers, please note that customs fees may now be chargeable on some books.

Mrs Midnight

and Other Stories


Reggie Oliver


Winner of the Dracula Society's Children of the Night Award

Nominated for a World Fantasy Award

Nominated for a British Fantasy Society Award


A TV reality show host helps to restore an East End music hall and uncovers the dreadful secret of Mrs Midnight and her Animal Comedians. . . . A historian travels to Switzerland to ghost the autobiography of an exiled Balkan king and encounters a sinister cult. . . . The Master of an Oxford college tries to introduce a dubious piece of modern sculpture into his college chapel with dire consequences. . . . A strange meeting takes place on a playing field between an officer on leave from the trenches and his former headmaster. . . .


The settings and characters in Reggie Oliver’s fifth collection of ‘strange’ stories are as varied and unusual as ever, though, as in previous volumes, the theatre forms the milieu of a number of his tales. But the theatres are not just English ones, in the provinces and the West End: one is on the Black Sea; another in post-colonial Kenya. Themes are equally varied, but underlying all is a deep sense of the spiritual under-currents just below the surface of everyday existence, and the precariousness of ‘normality’.


Reggie Oliver is an English playwright, biographer and writer of ghost stories. His work has appeared in a number of anthologies, including the Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror and The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror.


Mrs Midnight and Other Stories contains: 'Mrs Midnight', 'Countess Otho', 'Meeting with Mike', 'The Dancer in the Dark', 'Mr Pigsny', 'The Brighton Redemption', 'You Have Nothing to Fear', 'The Philosophy of the Damned', 'The Mortlake Manuscript', 'The Look', 'The Giacometti Crucifixion', 'A Piece of Elsewhere', 'Minos or Rhadamanthus'.


ISBN 978-1-905784-43-1

Mrs Midnight is a paperback of 381 pages.

Paperback: £14.95

Also available as an ebook for £4.99.

(Please note that the ebook will be sent manually, so there may be a short delay in receiving it.)



'Readers who like their horrors subtle but unsettling will find this volume much to their liking.' Starred review at Publishers Weekly

'…by miles, the best living exponent of the spooky yarn.' Barry Humphries.

'Mrs Midnight and other stories  is one of the best books I have read this year.' Henry Wessells, The Endless Bookshelf

'The latest collection (the fifth) by this extraordinary author assembles a bunch of excellent tales which confirm his uncommon talent as a teller of creepy, uncanny stories.' Mario Guslandi, The British Fantasy Society



An interview with Reggie Oliver can be viewed here:


Copyright Tartarus Press 2022