Tartarus Press


Seven Strange Stories is a sewn hardback of 245 pages, printed lithographically, with silk ribbon marker, head and tailbands, and



Limited to 300 copies.


ISBN 978-1-905784-96-7


Price: £35.00 inc. p&p worldwide.

Ebook: £4.99

(Please note that the ebook will be sent manually, so there may be a short delay in receiving it.)


The ebook will be available from Amazon in the next 24 hours

Seven Strange Stories


Rebecca Lloyd


In this new collection of seven stories, Rebecca Lloyd explores the power of the Gothic, superstition and the strange.


‘The Monster Orgorp’, set in the eighteenth century, questions who might be the real monster. ‘Little Black Eyes and Tiny Hands’ examines the repercussions on generations of Sicilians of the arrival in their village of an infamous Englishman. In ‘Christy’, the line between madness and the supernatural is blurred. ‘The Pantun Burden’ looks at whether ghosts are ‘real’, given that they exist in our own imaginations.  ‘Again’ investigates the psychological effects on a man who commits an unusual murder. In ‘Where’s the Harm’, two brothers are in conflict over the all-female inhabitants of a house hidden in a wood. ‘Jack Werrett, the Flood Man’ follows a woman who visits the wilds of Norfolk and comes to understand the fears of her landladies.


Seven Strange Stories confirms Rebecca Lloyd in her position as one of the most talented contemporary British writers of literary horror and supernatural fiction. Her previous Tartarus Press collection, Mercy and Other Stories, was nominated in the World Fantasy Awards.


Contents: ‘The Monster Orgorp’, ‘Jack Werrett, the Flood Man’, ‘Christy’, ‘The Pantun Burden’, ‘Again’, ‘Little Black Eyes and Tiny Hands’, ‘Where’s the Harm?’


Rebecca Lloyd is an author from the south of England. Her most recent published work includes her novel Oothangbart, (Pillar International Publishing), and three short story collections, Mercy, (Tartarus Press), The View from Endless Street, (WiDo Publishing), and Ragman and Other Family Curses, (Egaeus Press). Her stories have been reprinted in Best British Horror (Salt Publishing), Best New Horror (PS Publishing) and Best Horror of the Year, volume nine with Ellen Datlow. She has also written two novellas, Jack Werrett, the Flood Man, (Dunhams Manor Press) and Woolfy and Scrapo, (The Fantasist Magazine). Since 2014, literary awards in which she has been short-listed include The World Fantasy Award and the Aestas Short Story Prize. Her story collection Whelp was a finalist in the Paul Bowles Short Fiction Award. She is presently working on a Gothic horror novel set in 1850.




'An exquisite collection of macabre tales...' which '...will appeal to readers who like stories that are subtle as well as strange." Publishers Weekly

'... a very strong collection, one that adds new ideas to the genre of the weird, while at the same time recognising the debt to all those who have gone before. Lloyd is shaping up to be a major talent, one with a unique vision and compelling style.' Peter Tennant in Black Static 62

'Contains some unforgettable classics of the 'strange stories' genre.' D.F. Lewis

'Where's the Harm' has been chosen by Ellen Datlow for her Best Horror of the Year Volume 10.



Copyright Tartarus Press 2019